anethicallife

Striving for a greener, more ethical life

Happiness Manifesto

I was sorting some ‘clutter’ last night ( a bag that had been under a cupboard for 3 years!!!) and came across a sheet I had been given about the Happiness Manifesto. This was devised through a project in Stroud with the BBC. The manifesto recommends:

1 Get Physical. Exercise for half an hour three times a week

2 Count your Blessings. At the end of each day, reflect on at least five things you are grateful for.

3. Talk Time. Have an hour long uninterrupted conversation with your partner or closest friend each week.

4. Plant Something. Even if it is a window box or pot plant. Keep it alive!.

5. Cut your TV Viewing by Half.

6. Smile at and/or Say Hello to a Stranger.  At least once each day.

7. Phone a Friend. Make contact with at least one friend or relative you have not been in contact with for a while and arrange to meet up.

8. Have a Good Laugh at Least Once a Day

9 Every Day Make Sure You Give Yourself a Treat. Take time to really enjoy this.

10. Daily Kindness. Do an extra good turn for someone each day.

Another one you could add is ‘Sort Through Your Clutter’ if you are anything like me.  Every time I tackle a pile of clutter I feel better and feel less weighed down. My current underemployed situation was going to be the perfect vehicle for really clearing out lots of accumulated junk and clutter. This has only recently started but I have done my son’s room and it looks so much better. It just needs decorating now… I wish I was brave enough to show you before and after shots but I’m not.

I would also add ‘Get Active in Your Local Community’. Volunteering for causes I care about is an important way  for me to make my life feel happy and fulfilled. I do volunteer in other ways as a school governor (for the last 8 years) and I love that but it is also nice to get your hands stuck in to something practical. So we have been volunteering (for the last 3 weekends) as a family to help with the local nature reserve (mostly litter picking and getting pond weed out). Our part of London is full of green spaces and I really enjoy walking in them. This can be spoilt by large amounts of litter and while I always try to pick some up its not always easy. Now we have borrowed litterpickers from the local environment group and it is so much easier. The group meets at weekends just for an hour which passes really quickly but means you can do other things with your precious days.

Litter picking

Our local pond

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

